Screen Shot 2018-01-25 at 10.39.09 PMSummary from Goodreads.com

Maggie’s daughter Penny is her whole world… and she’d do anything to protect her. So when Maggie wakes one night to find a strange woman in her home, she runs to lock herself in her bedroom with her child. But Maggie knows why she’s come…

Someone has been targeting mothers and offering them a choice: do as he says or their child disappears. This stranger in her home has until dawn to follow his orders… but Maggie too has the ‘choice’ to make. Can she put the pieces together to stop the cycle before her time is up?

An edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Adam Croft and Tess Gerritsen.

 

My What I Liked About the Book

Wow.  This book was intense right from the beginning.  There was no lead-in to the action– the action started on page 1.  I read the first couple chapters right before going to bed one night, and I couldn’t fall asleep for hours because the image of seeing someone crawl into my kids’ bedroom windows was haunting.  I felt like the action dragged a little bit right before they left Maggie’s house, but the story line quickly picked up again and created new tentacles that kept me guessing throughout the book.

What I Didn’t Like About the Book

 

Anyone remember the movie “Saw” when it came out?  This was the “Saw” of books. The end got pretty gory, although I admit it could have been MUCH worse.  There was a lot of talk that caused the reader’s imagination to run wild, even though the author didn’t TECHNICALLY describe the violence.

The other thing I didn’t like about this book was that the Babysitter’s character was never fully fleshed-out.  The description into how the Babysitter tied into the other characters seemed hurried and incomplete.  Also, I wanted to know WHY he chose Maggie and Holly out of all the moms out there.  I guess it truly was a random act?  A pure crime of convenience?  Throughout the book, I was expecting a twist at the end that tied Holly and Maggie personally to the Babysitter, but that never came.

Would I recommend this book?

If you love horror movies, you will LOVE this book.  I’ve never been a huge fan of Stephen King because his books aren’t that scary.  This book would keep you up and make you question every creak and rustle you hear in your hours.  It also opens up a fantastic hypothetical question:  What would YOU do if your child was kidnapped and the only way you get them to return safely to you was to kill someone else?  Overall, it was a thrilling, fast read.  I’m taking away a star just because I personally don’t like descriptive, excessive gore.  4 / 5 stars.

Thank you to the author, Richard Parker, the publisher, and NetGalley for allowing me to read this book in advance in exchange for my honest review.

Keep Her Safe Review Box

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s